

- "Other" category comprises: Bessemer & Lake Erie (before 1985), Boston & Maine (before 1989), Delaware & Hudson (before 1988), Detroit, Toledo & Ironton (before 1984), Duluth, Missabe & Iron Range (before 1985), Elgin, Joliet & Eastern (before 1986), Florida East Coast (before 1992), Grand Trunk Western (before 1999), Long Island (before 1983), Missouri-Kansas-Texas (before 1989), Pittsburgh & Lake Erie (before 1985), Rock Island (1978 only), and Western Pacific (before 1986)
- Burlington Northern changes to BNSF Railway in 1996. BN figures include Colorado & Southern and Fort Worth & Denver (1978 through 1981)
- Chessie System figures include Baltimore & Ohio and Chesapeake & Ohio (1978 through 1985), and Western Maryland (1978 through 1983)
- Illinois Central changes to Canadian National in 1999, and includes Grand Trunk Western (1999 through 2001, when separate GTW reporting ended)
- Seaboard System figures include Clinchfield and Louisville & Nashville (1978 through 1982)
- Southern Pacific figures include St. Louis Southwestern (1978 through 1989)